Aufderheide Scenic Drive, Oregon

Spent yet another amazing Oregon day driving the Aufderheide Scenic Road in Oregon. Boasting amazing rivers, hikes and camping spots, there’s a lot to see and do. Stopped in at the Constitution Grove and hiked for awhile along the North Fork. I’ll post pictures soon. The negative today would be the campgrounds and roads gated off by the Forest Service. I continue to find this really disappointing. I need to qualify that I was raised by a now retired Forest Service employee, so my loyalty goes very deep. But I feel that lately we are seeing more areas closed too early. Shame on you Willamette National Forest! Just because Labor Day has passed, doesn’t mean that there aren’t a lot of people still out camping and enjoying our public lands. This is one reason I’m passionate about keeping this website going. The more knowledge and sharing of our natural assets the less likely they will be gated off. Keep your voices heard in a peaceful protest. Keep our campgrounds open and let us access “our” roads – not just the logging companies! Once again – Shame on you WNF! Get your act together!

Leave a comment